10 Reasons you should move to the Valley

Just take a minute and look at that picture. Yeah, I’m sure you can see a good sunset and rise just about anywhere, but that was taken in my backyard. The views here never seize to amaze me. I am originally from Spotsylvania, VA, most people are more familiar with Fredericksburg. Maybe there was the same oppurtunity for all of the reasons I am going to give you, but I was too young to ever get a chance to experience it. I LOVE living in Rockingham county. Since I moved here 5 years ago, I never feel like there is nothing to do, like how I felt while growing up. So if you are looking for a change in your life, I recommend looking to move to the Shenandoah Valley, and here is why.

  1. Hiking.
    • There are literally an endless amount of hiking trails around here. They vary in difficulty too, so if you are looking for an all day hike, or just a simple walk through the woods, there are plenty of options.
  2. The river.
    • As long as you own a kayak or a canoe, you can go out on the river for the day and fish or just float and relax. In Fredericksburg, it seemed like you had to pay to go on the river for an all day float, but I could be wrong.
  3. James Madison University.
    • Not only JMU, but there is Blue Ridge Community College, Eastern Mennonite University, and Bridgewater College. I’m just biased to JMU because I’m an Alum (GO DUKES!). Although, not all would agree JMU is a good thing. JMU students are not always the best part about Harrisonburg. Actually, they can often be the worst part of it based on their behaviors.
  4. The sunsets.
    • Besides when I have been to the beach, I have never seen a more gorgeous sunset that what we have here. The colors are so defined, and you can go to the top of a mountain to watch the sun set.
  5. Resorts.
    • There are two big resorts around here: Bryce and Massanutten Resort. Bryce is more relaxed, with Lake Laura to utilize in the summer, and the ski slopes in the winter. They also have a golf course, and offer mountain biking as a new adventure to try. Massanutten has a lot going on with their ski slopes, water park, moutain biking, dining, ice skating, the list goes on of things to do there. But it’s nice because they are both nice day trips, so you can save money by not having to stay on the resort itself.
  6. Jeeping.
    • I had never heard of this before I came here. It is an entire culture, and I’m sure there is a lot of jeeping elsewhere. Since the Shenandoah National Park is right down the road, it has endless trails to ride around on that will take you to some crazy places. Be prepared not to have service and to ride around and enjoy nature.
  7. Camping.
    • Obviously camping can be done anywhere. It’s nice here mostly because of the National Park where you can hike and or drive just about anywhere and set up camp. Plus, you can literally unwind from technology and the fast pace of the city by enjoying complete silence and some beautiful stars at night.
  8. Vineyards.
    • We all need to WINE a little more. But honestly, there are no many vineyards and breweries around you can try a different one out every weekend and probably be good for 6 months. They are all local places with gorgeous views and great tasting beers, ciders, and wine.
  9. Skyline Drive.
    • So maybe jeeping isn’t your thing, Skyline drive is open for you to drive through. You can stop and have a picnic, go hiking if you chose, or just enjoy the gentle drive up and down the mountain with gorgeous views surrounding you.
  10. Virginia is for Lovers
    • I know this is super cliche to say, but seriously, if you don’t already live in Virginia, you are missing out. We are on the coast for the beach, and you can have the mountains too. The Valley is quiet, but you can also easily have access to the city. It isn’t terribly far from D.C. so you can visit there too.

So, are you ready to move yet? Call me today, and let’s find you a new home.

Amber Fleck REALTOR® 540.273.6673 @HomesOfTomorrow20

Published by HomesofTomorrow20

I am a licensed REALTOR in the Commonwealth of Virginia. I specialize in Rockingham and Shenandoah properties, but I have a global reach working for Coldwell Banker, so I can either help you, or get you help anywhere in the world!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started