Moving to The Valley

The beautiful Shenandoah Valley is a great place to settle down and make home. Whether you are relocating here for a job, or maybe even retirement, there are a ton of things to do in the Valley all alond I-81.

I’m going to specifically focus more on Shenandoah, Page, and Rockingham and why you should pick theses places to settle down to.

Let’s start with Page County. No, it isn’t immediately off of interstate 81, but if you get off at New Market, it is a quick 20 minute drive over the mountain. Once you are over there, there is no highway noise, but instead gorgeous mountain views pretty much everywhere you look. I love driving through Page because it just has some of the best views I have every seen. It is about 30 minutes to get to any major living area, whether you go South to Elkton, or North to Front Royal, it is a great place to live and commute out of.

Now Shenandoah County is also convienent for communting and has wonderful views. You’ll find more going on in Shenandoah with more large towns like Woodstock and Strasburg. So you can have your mountain retreat and still be extremely close to all the action. Shenandoah is also home to Bryce Resort, a small resort in the mountains that is famous for their slopes all year round from skiing and snowborading to mountain biking in the warmer months.

Rockingham also has endless views, but I would consider it more diverse because you can be out in the middle of no where with no service, or right in the heart of Harrisonburg, the Friendly City, where everythere is happening. Rockingham also has Massanutten Resort which is fairly famous amongst those that like to ski or snowboard. Plus, Harrisonburg is home of the JMU Dukes, so you get college football!

Ultimately, I am totally bias when it comes to these counties because I love it. I live in Rockingham, just down the road from the Shenandoah county line, and I never get tired of seeing the gorgeous mountains everyday. There is honestly a never ending list of things to do here. With easy access to two resorts, you’ve got your winters planned. Two National Forest’s are extremely close, George Washington and Shenandoah National Park, so you can go hiking and camping. There is the beautiful Shenandoah river to float away all your worries while in a kayak, canoe, or a tube. All three of these counties are not over populated, and I wouldn’t compare any of it to Winchester, Front Royal, or even Charlottesville. They are a sweet spot, a middle ground. You will meet some of the most wonderful and kind hearted people, which I promise will be a refreshing change if you’re from the city. If you like the city, none are too terribly far, so you can still live close, without living in the city.

Need more convincing? Give me a call and let’s finalize your move.

540-273-6673

Published by HomesofTomorrow20

I am a licensed REALTOR in the Commonwealth of Virginia. I specialize in Rockingham and Shenandoah properties, but I have a global reach working for Coldwell Banker, so I can either help you, or get you help anywhere in the world!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started