Weekly Recipe 7.0

The colder the day, the nicer it is to come home to the smell of a cooked dinner, and a perfectly warm meal. I knew I became an adult when I was so excited to get my first slow cooker. (And when I got the best vacuum EVER.) Slow cookers make life 10,000 times easier, especially when you don’t feel like cooking, and you want to come home to dinner made and ready to eat. A previous slow cooker recipe I have written about is Weekly Recipe 4.0 with chicken tacos, which are a must make!

So this week I am posting the recipe I use to make the best Potato Soup. Main ingredients include potatoes, cheese, and bacon. This recipe is from my doppelganger, The Girl Who Ate Everything, like honestly we should be friends.

*Disclaimer, if dairy is not your friend, do not make this at home, or don’t put in nearly as much cheese*

Ingredients:

  • 30 oz of frozen, pre-diced potatoes (I cut up Russet potatoes into small cubes, and I do so until the crock pot is half full)
  • 28 oz chicken broth
  • 1 10.75 oz can of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • Ground Pepper, to taste
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • Toppings: Bacon, cheese, and green onions.

Directions:

  1. After dicing potatoes, combine everything except the cream cheese and toppings in the slow cooker and set on either high for 6 hours or low for 8, depending on what times you’re starting and when you plan on eating tonight.
  2. About 30 minutes before the planned time of completion, add in the cream cheese and let it melt. At this point, I like to do a nice layer of shredded cheese on top and let it sit and melt for the last 30 minutes.
  3. Mix it all up, and then serve. Add more cheese the individual bowls, with bacon, and green onions if you like. Even a dash of sour cream if that is what you like too!

Published by HomesofTomorrow20

I am a licensed REALTOR in the Commonwealth of Virginia. I specialize in Rockingham and Shenandoah properties, but I have a global reach working for Coldwell Banker, so I can either help you, or get you help anywhere in the world!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started